Skip to main content Skip to navigation
Washington State University

Graduate Student News

Daniel Fogt
Daniel Fogt, ABD in early modern European history, published his first peer-reviewed journal article, “Migration and Transregional Marriage along the Dutch-German Borderlands, 1570–1601,” Archiv für Reformationsgeschichte/Archive for Reformation History, vol. 112, no. 1, (2021).

Jessica O'Rourke
The Latah County Historical Society hosted an open house for MA student Jessica O’Rourke’s exhibit titled Inland Northwest Immigrants: Newcomers to Latah County, housed in the historic McConnell Mansion.
The exhibit will be on display in the mansion until the end of August.



Inland Northwest Immigrants exhibit open house

Ryan Booth
Ryan W. Booth successfully defended his dissertation, Crossed Arrows: The US Indian Scouts. His committee members included Peter Boag, Jennifer Thigpen, Robert McCoy, and Sherry Smith.

Congratulations, Ryan!

Karl Krotke-Crandall
Karl Krotke-Crandall successfully defended his dissertation, The Holocaust in Russian Life: New Perspectives on Soviet Jewish Memory. His committee members included Brigit Farley, Raymond Sun, and Steven Kale.

Congratulations, Karl!

James Cornelius
James Cornelius successfully defended his thesis, “Executive Influence and the Opposition Discourse of John Taylor of Caroline: A Contextual Study in American Party Development 1793-1794.” His committee members included Lawrence Hatter, Steven Kale, and Matthew Sutton.

Congratulations, James!

Delaney Piper
Delaney Piper successfully defended her thesis, “Farm Bound: Landscapes of Self-Sufficiency, Dependency and Penality in Pacific Northwest Poor Farms.” Her committee members included Peter Boag, Jeffrey Sanders, and Laurie Mercier.

Congratulations, Delaney!

Kyley Canion-Brewer
Kyley Canion-Brewer successfully defended her thesis, “What Remains?” Decolonization and Erasure of Memory in the History of the Africamuseum, 1879-2020.” Her committee members included Raymond Sun, Robert McCoy, Susan Peabody, and Jeffrey Ostler.

Congratulations, Kyley!

MJ Vega
Mario Jesus Vega successfully defended his thesis, ‘“A Citizen Same as You and I’: Japanese American Student Relocation to Moscow, Idaho and Pullman, Washington.” His committee members included Jeffrey Sanders, Noriko Kawamura, Raymond Sun, and Kathleen Whalen.

Congratulations, MJ!

The department has awarded the following scholarship to support current students pursuing a major or minor in History:

  • William D. Aiken Memorial Endowment in History
  • Paul C. Anderson Scholarship in History
  • Stan and Sui Berry Family Lifetime Friendship Endowment
  • Frederick and Liselotte Dumin Memorial Scholarship
  • History Scholarship Fund
  • Claudius O. and Mary @. Johnson Scholarship in History
  • LaPorte/Thorson Memorial Endowed Scholarship in History
  • Ray Muse History Scholarship
  • Sherman Pettyjohn and Mabel Smith Memorial Fund
  • Wayne Stanford Scholarship

Thank you to our donors, alumni, and friends for supporting our students with contributions to these scholarship and award funds. Your gifts are deeply appreciated!