Skip to main content Skip to navigation
History | Faculty News

Ashley Wright published in the Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History

The department would like to share a bit of late news for Professor Ashley Wright! “Not just a place for the smoking of opium: the Indian opium den and imperial anxieties in the 1890s” was published in the Summer 2017 edition of the Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History. Check out her article at the link below!

2017 Celebration of Assessment Excellence

The Department of History is honored to receive praise from the Office of Assessment of Teaching and Learning for not only the success of the general history courses being offered, but also for the success of the Roots of Contemporary Issues UCORE program. History as a whole department was recognized for its high quality learning and assessment practices while RCI was recognized for its exemplary student learning assessment system for a UCORE program in partnership with WSU Libraries.

Professor Whelchel as the Provost’s Featured Faculty

Congratulations professor Whelchel! Aaron Whelchel, a history professor currently located at WSU-Vancouver, was awarded the Provost’s Featured Faculty Member recognition this month by Chancellor Netzhammer and Renny Christopher.

Professor Whelchel will be present in Pullman for the homecoming game on October 21st where he will be recognized for his accomplishments!


Featured Faculty

Sutton and Hatter speak at the Foley Institute

Professors Lawrence Hatter, Matthew Sutton, and Jeniffer Barclay(of CCGRS) spoke at the Foley Institute for a presentation being titled “Racism or Heritage: Controversies over Civil War Monuments,” on October 10, 2017. Please take the time to review their discussion on the official Youtube account of the Thomas S. Foley institute.


Dr. Yvonne Berliner hosts a guest!

On Monday, October 9, 2017, History 232 The Mexican Revolution and the Arts Senior Instructor Dr. Yvonne Berliner hosted guest lecturer Dr. Francisco Manzo-Robledo, from the WSU Foreign languages and cultures Department.  Professor Manzo-Robledo spoke about the role of women in the Mexican Revolution, 1910-1920, as portrayed in Mexican films of the 1940s and 50s.  Students and professors engaged in discussion regarding differing gendered views of this historical event.

Jesse Spohnholz and The Convent of Wesel

Professor Spohnholz has a new book published by Cambridge University Press, available for pre-order now!

The Convent of Wesel was long believed to be a clandestine assembly of Protestant leaders in 1568 that helped establish foundations for Reformed churches in the Dutch Republic and northwest Germany. However, Jesse Spohnholz shows that that event did not happen, but was an idea created and perpetuated by historians and record keepers since the 1600s. Appropriately, this book offers not just a fascinating snapshot of Reformation history but a reflection on the nature of historical inquiry itself. The Convent of Wesel begins with a detailed microhistory that unravels the mystery and then traces knowledge about the document at the centre of the mystery over four and a half centuries, through historical writing, archiving and centenary commemorations. Spohnholz reveals how historians can inadvertently align themselves with protagonists in the debates they study and thus replicate errors that conceal the dynamic complexity of the past.

Join us in congratulating him on his upcoming release!

Marina Tolmacheva attends summer conferences

As we settle into this new academic year we want to take a moment to look back and appreciate some achievements that were not previously recognized over the last few months as we transitioned through staff changes!

Marina Tolmacheva traveled to two international meetings this summer. In August, she attended the 25th International Congress of the History of Science and Technology in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Tolmacheva presented a paper in the symposium on the “History of Islamic Science: Global and Local,” and also gave the academic year’s Inaugural Lecture in the Geography Program at the Universidade Federal da Integração Latino-Americana (Foz do Iguaçu, Parana). In July, she attended the regional conference of the Central Eurasian Studies Society in Bishkek, Kyrgyz Republic. The conference was hosted by the American University of Central Asia. In addition to presenting a paper, Tolmacheva was invited to speak at two other local universities: the International Relations Faculty at Balasagyn National University and in the Department of Foreign Languages at the International University of Kyrgyzstan.

Review the conferences and their content at the links below!

Washington State University