Many scholarship and fellowship recipients attended this year’s awards ceremony on April 29. Thanks to great alumni and friends, the department is blessed with numerous scholarships available to our majors.  Many undergraduate and graduate students have excelled in research, writing, and academic excellence.

Dr. Kale
Dr. Steven Kale, Chair of the Department of History, introduced Dr. Jennifer Thigpen and Dr. Matt Sutton who gave students certificates. Several students earned more than one scholarship or fellowship.
Dr. Thigpen 2
Dr. Jennifer Thigpen discussed each undergraduate awardee’s accomplishments and focus of study.
Atkins and Sutton 1
Dr. Matt Sutton and Graduate student, Greg Atkins.


See the 2016 Awards Program.