Skip to main content Skip to navigation
History | Undergraduate Scholarships
  • Asia Excellence Award
    Awarded to an outstanding undergraduate student who has chosen Asia Studies as their academic focus.

  • Claudius O. Johnson Memorial Scholarship in History
    Awarded to undergraduate history majors demonstrating outstanding academic progress.

  • Frederick and Liselotte Dumin Memorial Scholarship   
    Potentially awarded to either an undergraduate or graduate student studying within the Department of History. Nominations are made during the fall semester.

  • George & Bernadine Converse Historical Endowment
    Undergraduate students in good academic standing  will be selected based on demonstrated financial need.

  • History Scholarship Fund
    Awarded to undergraduate history majors demonstrating outstanding academic progress.

  • Howard C. Payne Award for Excellence in Research
    Provides for one or more undergraduate awards for excellence in research. Award recipients shall be evaluated by the research papers they are required to write in a senior seminar course (currently HIST 469). Eligible students shall be nominated by a Department of History faculty member. A committee of department faculty members will review the nominated undergraduate candidates and select a recipient based on the demonstration of scholarship, creativity and the student’s ability to write analytically.

  • India Research Fund
    Awarded to an undergraduate student who is primarily studying the history of India.

  • Katherine Gilbert Blinn Scholarship in History
    Awarded to one or more students and are renewable based on satisfactory academic progress. Qualified applicants shall be full time undergraduate students with financial need.

  • Leta Olmstead Smith Scholarship
    Provides for one annual scholarship to a student enrolled on a full time basis who is majoring in history. Recipients shall be of junior or senior standing and selection will be made from students who have shown outstanding academic ability and have demonstrated an interest in American history. Financial need will be considered. The recipient shall be required to complete a research project on a topic related to rural American history.

  • Middle East History Research and Scholarship Fund  
    Awarded to a graduate or undergraduate student with an outstanding record to support research and study of the Middle East encompassing Egypt and the Levant, North Africa, Iraq, Iran, and Turkey.

  • Morris Reed Scholarship in History
    At least one scholarship is awarded per academic year to either an undergraduate or graduate student demonstrating outstanding academic progress.

  • Paul C. Anderson Scholarship in History
    Provided for undergraduate scholarships or graduate fellowships in history.

  • Professors William M. Landeen & Claudius O. Johnson Scholarship Fund
    Provides scholarship for two or more undergraduate students. Students must major in or demonstrate an academic interest in history. This award will be granted based on academic merit and personal financial need.

  • Raymond Muse History Scholarship
    Awarded to undergraduate majors or graduate students with an outstanding academic record.

  • Ruth Magnuson Roberts Scholarship in History
    Awards one or more annual scholarships to undergraduate students with a minimum GPA of 3.0 or greater, who are studying history in either their sophomore or junior year. This scholarship will be distributed based on financial need. The Ruth Magnuson Roberts Scholarship is renewable based on satisfactory academic progress.

  • Stan Berry & Siu Family Lifetime Friendship Endowment
    Provides scholarship to an international student who is focusing on European history or an international student in the Department of History. If no students meeting the previously listed qualifications apply, then a history student focusing on European history may be awarded.

  • Stephen L. Thigpen Scholarship
    Awarded in the spring for excellence in undergraduate research in the History 300 course. Student shall be nominated by a faculty member.

  • Wayne Stanford History Scholarship
    Provides scholarship to one undergraduate student as well as one graduate student per academic year. The undergraduate student must be either a junior or a senior. Two undergraduate or two graduate awards may be made if no qualified students apply from the other level.

  • William D. Aiken Memorial Fund
    Provided for undergraduate scholarships or graduate fellowships in history, as well as general support for scholarly activity and travel relevant to the study of history

  • Winston B. Thorson Memorial Scholarship
    Awarded to students of the Department of History who demonstrate scholastic excellence and outstanding character.
Washington State University