Skip to main content Skip to navigation
History | History Faculty

Raymond Sun with students

WSU history faculty have a number of responsibilities: teaching, research, and service to the department, the university and the profession.

Our faculty consists of Full, Associate, Assistant, and Clinical Professors, as well as Instructors and Senior Instructors. All ranks participate in the department’s research and teaching mission.

Our professors have published extensively in a wide range of fields and have earned a reputation for high-quality classroom teaching.  Our senior faculty routinely teach undergraduate courses and participate in faculty-mentored student research at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Whether you are a freshman, a transfer student, or a senior, you will find many opportunities to interact with a wide variety of committed and talent teachers and scholars.

Guide to Graduate Fields of Study & Major Professors

Faculty Books

Faculty MemberE-mail
Bauman, Robert (Tri-Cities)
American history and public history
rbauman@tricity.wsu.edu
Boag, Peter (Pullman)
American West, the Pacific Northwest, modern America, the environment, and sexuality
boag@wsu.edu
Brecher, W. Puck (Pullman)
Early and Modern Japan
wbrecher@wsu.edu
Farley, Brigit (Tri-Cities)
Russian and East European history
bfarley@tricity.wsu.edu
Goucher, Candice L. (Vancouver)
World history, African history, and Caribbean studies
cgoucher@wsu.edu
Hatter, Lawrence B. A. (Pullman)
Early America, Atlantic World, Borderlands history
lawrence.hatter@wsu.edu
Hoch, Steven (Tri-Cities)
Modern Russian history, European agrarian history, and historical demography
steven-hoch@wsu.edu
Kale, Steven D. (Pullman)
19th-century Europe, modern France, and postwar Europe
kale@wsu.edu
Kawamura, Noriko (Pullman)
U.S. foreign relations, U.S.–East Asian relations, and modern Japanese history
nkawamura@wsu.edu
McCoy, Robert (Pullman)
Public history
rmccoy@wsu.edu
Mercier, Laurie (Vancouver)
United States, the American West, the Pacific Northwest, immigration and migration, and American labor
lmercier@wsu.edu
Peabody, Sue (Vancouver)
Early modern Europe, Atlantic and Indian Ocean, world slavery and race, History in Media and Popular Culture
speabody@wsu.edu
Sanders, Jeffrey (Pullman)
Environmental, Pacific Northwest, and U.S. West history
jcsanders@wsu.edu
Spohnholz, Jesse (Pullman)
Early modern European social, cultural, and religious history
spohnhoj@wsu.edu
Sun, Raymond (Pullman)
Social history of religion, modern German history, Holocaust and genocide studies, military history
sunray@wsu.edu
Sutton, Matthew A. (Pullman)
20th-century United States, cultural, and religious history
sutton@wsu.edu
Svingen, Orlan (Pullman)
Public and United States history
svingen@wsu.edu
Thigpen, Jennifer (Pullman)
19th-century U.S. history, women and gender, colonialism, and the West
jthigpen@wsu.edu
Tolmacheva, Marina (Pullman)
Islamic civilization and Middle East history
tolmache@wsu.edu
Wang, Xiuyu (Vancouver)
Modern Chinese history, ethnicity, religion and nationalism in China, modern East Asian history, and world history
xiuyuwang@wsu.edu
Wright, Ashley (Pullman)
Modern Britain, colonial Burma, British Empire, World History
ashley.wright2@wsu.edu
Washington State University